Exciting Entries Headline Daybreaker Rally

Press Release - 6 July 2012

The release of the Seeded Entry List for the Daybreaker Rally has confirmed that an exciting and high quality field of 57 cars will tackle the 122km of challenging gravel roads in the north Manawatu. Especially as last minute entries have added some spice.

It was 2008 when Andrew Hawkeswood last brought his Audi Quattro to the Daybreaker Rally, now he is set to thrill the spectators again as he chases points in the Total Lubricants Rally Xtreme Challenge.

Also chasing points in the challenge are the crowd favourites of Jeff Judd and Dylan Turner. For Judd his sideways fun has turned a little more serious as he looks to improve his 5th place overall.

Andrew Hawkeswood.
Photo Credit - Jody Seabright

Meanwhile Turner makes a comeback after a huge crash at Rally Wairarapa earlier this year and will be looking to get his points chase underway.

Making his annual rally excursion is the highly regarded local driver Jason Weld as he again looks to show off his flamboyant style in the unique Datsun 180B WRC, and repeat his top 10 finish of last year.

These drivers join the already confirmed entries of Alex Kelsey, Stewart Taylor, Geof Argyle, and Neil Marshal, at the top of the seedings. Adding to these, the recent form of Grant Blackberry at the Hawkes Bay Rally makes him one to watch. While Shannon Chambers could be a dark horse as he gets to grips with his hi-tech and high powered Mitsubishi Evo 10. His third place at this event last year shows he has the ability.

The drivers start from Feilding at the Manfeild main entry at 830am as they head off to complete 10 special stages, looping around teh small town of Apiti, before returning to the Manfeild complex at 4:25pm.

Spectator Maps and the Seeded Entry List are available from the Daybreaker web site. www.daybreaker.co.nz

© Rally Wairarapa Inc - 04 905 6250 - enquiries@rallywairarapa.co.nz